Election of Trustees

The board of trustees is comprised of seven trustees elected at-large from Community College District 509 (which includes all who reside within public school districts 300, 301, 303 and U-46). An eighth trustee is a student elected by the student body, who has an advisory vote. Trustees serve six-year terms on a rotating basis. Student trustees are elected annually and seated in April.

Candidates for ECC Board of Trustees

Two six-year terms for the Office of Trustee at Elgin Community College District 509 will be elected at the Consolidated Election held Apr. 2, 2019. 

Candidates must be a U.S. citizen; be 18 years of age or older on the date of the election; be a resident of Illinois and the district for at least one year immediately preceding the election and not be a member of a common school board.

Prospective candidates can begin filing nominating papers on Dec. 10, 2018, in the local election official’s office in Building B, room B235 on Elgin Community College’s campus at 1700 Spartan Drive, Elgin, IL 60123. Petitions may be filed either in person or by United States mail. The period for filing nominating papers is Dec. 10 – 17, 2018, Monday through Friday during the hours of 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.  Please note that filings made by mail must be received no earlier than the opening of the office on Dec. 10, 2018 and no later than 5 p.m. on the last day of the filing period, Dec. 17, 2018.

Lotteries (if needed) for simultaneous filings at 8 a.m., on the first day of filing (Dec. 10), or for those who file between 4 p.m. and 5 p.m. on the last day (Dec. 17) will be held Dec. 19, 2018 at 9:30 a.m., in the same office where nominating papers are filed. Candidates need not be present at the lottery.

The office will be open for public viewing of the nominating papers Dec. 10-21, 2018, and Jan. 2, 2019, from 8 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.

Objections to nominating papers will be received in the same office where nominating papers are filed.  The office will be open for receiving objections Dec. 18 through 21, 2018, and Jan. 2, 2019, from 8 am to 5:00 pm. The college is closed Dec. 22, 2018 through Jan. 1, 2019. Consequently, during that time, any objections can be sent by certified mail with receipt, along with your name, address and telephone number. The objection must be postmarked by Jan. 2, 2019 and addressed to:

Elgin Community College Election Official
Building B 235.04
1700 Spartan Drive
Elgin, IL  60123

For more information, contact Diane Kerruish at 847-214-7374.

Additional Information

Mid-Term Vacancies

In the event of a trustee vacancy occurring between elections, remaining trustees appoint a replacement. (Specific laws apply in the replacement of the appointed trustee when the next consolidated election is held.) Student government appoints a replacement for any vacancy of the student trustee.

Board Responsibilities

  • Determine the policies which guide ECC
  • Monitor its fiscal affairs
  • Oversee the administration of the institution by the president

The board of trustees serves as a deliberative, legislative, and planning body which governs the college in accordance with Illinois law and the U.S. Constitution.