Skip to content

2024 - Elgin Community College Names Student Leadership for 2024-25 Academic Year

Tags: Announcement | Student Profile
Published 05/14/2024
Jess Heiser, student trustee, and Seth Hernandez, student body president

Jess Heiser, student trustee, and Seth Hernandez, student body president

Three Elgin Community College student leaders will represent the college for the 2024-25 academic year. Jess Heiser, of St. Charles, Ill., was elected as the District 509 Board of Trustees student trustee. ECC’s Student Body Government will be led by President Seth Hernandez, of South Elgin, Ill., with Brianna Zlotow, of Hanover Park, Ill., as executive vice president.

Heiser will replace Ryan Kolbusz, of South Elgin, Ill., who has served as the 2023-24 student trustee. Kolbuscz graduates in May with an Associate in Science degree. 

“I decided to run for student trustee because I saw that a lot of people’s voices weren’t being represented, one of those being people with disabilities,” Heiser said. “The college does a great job of trying to include people, but there are still some systematic changes that need to be made, and I want to be part of that change.”

Heiser’s passion for creating change stems from her experience advocating for herself. Heiser plans on majoring in social work and is pursuing an Associate of Arts degree and an Associate of Applied Science – Human Services Generalist degree.

Hernandez, who has been elected to serve as the president of the student government, looks forward to connecting with students. “I want to use this position to help show students the resources they have available to them and that they don’t have to navigate college alone,” Hernandez said. “I want students to feel empowered and know they are capable.”

Outgoing student government president Victor Senese, of Huntley, Ill., will continue to pursue an Associate in Arts degree at ECC with a focus on financial management.