Placement Testing Review Workshops

The workshops described on this page review the basic math, English, and reading concepts needed when taking placements tests at Elgin Community College. These workshops are optional and non-credit.

Workshop summaries:

  • Math: Review basic and intermediate algebra.
  • English: This workshop discusses how to write a 400-word essay on a topic that will be given to you. Your placement will be assessed on how well you develop, organize, and support the topic of your essay. Your placement also depends on your understanding of form, variety of sentence structure, and correct grammar.
  • Reading: Review the skills needed to read a passage and answer questions accurately. The workshop will also cover the test design as well as the main idea, vocabulary in context, transitions, and paragraph patterns.

To register for a workshop:

  1. Complete the non-credit form and take it to Registration, Building B, Room B105, 847-214-7393.
  2. Pay the $10 fee at Student Accounts, Building B, Room B166, 847-214-7380 by cash, check, or charge.

Please note:

  • These workshops are open only to ECC students or individuals who plan to enroll at ECC.
  • You must pre-register; see above.
  • No refunds.
  • Receipt of payment must be brought to the class.

Workshops Dates

ECC reserves the right to cancel workshops due to low enrollment. The class will be canceled if less than 5 students are enrolled. You will be refunded only if classes are canceled. Dates, times and rooms are subject to change.

Math Workshops Chart
 DayTimeCourse CodeLocation
November 2 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-305 Building G, Room G226
November 16 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-306 Building G, Room G226
November 23 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-307 Building G, Room G226
December 14 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-308 Building G, Room G226
January 11, 2020 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-101 Building F, Room F112
January 25, 2020 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-102 Building F, Room F112
February 8, 2020 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-103 Building F, Room F112
February 22, 2020 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-104 Building F, Room F112
March 7, 2020 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-105 Building F, Room F112
March 21, 2020 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-106 Building F, Room F112
April 11, 2020 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-107 Building F, Room F112
April 25, 2020 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-108 Building F, Room F112
May 9, 2020 Saturday 12 to 3 p.m. CPC-588-109 Building F, Room F112
English Workshops Chart
 DayTimeCourse CodeLocation
November 6 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-307 Building G, Room G224
November 13 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-308 Building G, Room G224
November 20 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-309 Building G, Room G224
December 4 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-310 Building G, Room G224
December 11 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-311 Building G, Room G224
December 18 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-312 Building G, Room G224
January 8, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-101 Building G, Room G224
January 15, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-102 Building G, Room G224
January 22, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-103 Building G, Room G224
January 29, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-104 Building G, Room G224
February 5, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-105 Building G, Room G224
February 12, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-106 Building G, Room G224
February 19, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-107 Building G, Room G224
February 26, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-108 Building G, Room G224
March 4, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-109 Building G, Room G224
March 11, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-110 Building G, Room G224
March 18, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-111 Building G, Room G224
April 1, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-112 Building G, Room G224
April 8, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-113 Building G, Room G224
April 15, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-114 Building G, Room G224
April 22, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-115 Building G, Room G224
April 29, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-116 Building G, Room G224
May 6, 2020 Wednesday 12 to 2 p.m. CPC-589-117 Building G, Room G224

Reading Workshops

Currently, there are no workshops offered for reading.