Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

At Your Service

Communications Office
Bldg D, Room D110, ECC Campus
Tel: 847-214-7823
Hours: M-F 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Media Relations
Tel: 847-214-7769

Social Media
Tel: 847-214-7838

Follow Us

Social Media Stream

Academic Calendar

Calendar image

Know the important dates & follow academic calendar.

View online calendar»
View PDF versions»

District 509 Board seats new member, assigns committees

Jeffrey Meyer

Jeffrey Meyer, new member of District 509 Board of Trustees

Jeffrey Meyer has begun his six-year term on the Community College District 509 Board of Trustees after being seated at the May 5 special meeting. He said he has a lot to learn and plans to do more listening than talking as he begins his term.

Meyer, of Elgin, is an attorney and small business owner who received his law degree from Northern Illinois University. He is married and has a son. Meyer also is active in the community and serves as a board member for Hamilton Wings; volunteer attorney for the CASA DeKalb County; and as chairman and precinct committeeman of the Elgin Township Republican Central Committee.

While he appreciates how ECC has grown, Meyer said the college should not look to additional bond referendums or increasing taxes as solutions to deal with that growth. As trustee, he proposes to incorporate more technology in instruction to allow more students to access educational opportunities remotely.

"We have to maintain value not just for the students, but for taxpayers," Meyer said. "It's a delicate balance."

Incumbent Donna Schuring Redmer, EdD, retained her seat for a second six-year term. Incumbent Bob Getz was not reelected. He was first elected to the board in April 2003 and served two terms. 

Jorge Galvan of Elgin was seated as the new ECC student trustee in April after being elected by his fellow students to serve a one-year term. He is a Larkin High School graduate.

The board voted to retain the current leadership for another year. Redmer will continue as chair, Eleanor "Ellie" MacKinney, CAS, will continue as vice chair, and John Duffy, MSEd, will continue as secretary.

Also, trustees approved the following assignments:

Committee of the Whole: Entire Board of Trustees

Finance Committee Chair and two representatives: Trustee Art Sauceda, CPA (chair), Trustees Duffy and Meyer

Legislative Liaison: Trustee MacKinney     

Parliamentarian: Trustee Clare Ollayos, DC                        

ECC Foundation Liaison: Trustee Redmer  

Illinois Community College Trustees Association (ICCTA) Representative: Trustee Angela Causey and Trustee Ollayos as alternate

Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) Representative, elected from the Midwest Region to serve a three-year term, 2015 to 2017, as director-at-large on the ACCT Board of Directors: Trustee Ollayos

ACCT Committee Associate Members, appointed by ACCT Chair to serve a one-year term, calendar year 2015: Finance and Audit Committee -Trustee Duffy, Diversity Committee - Trustee Redmer


Go to top